Difference between Vegan and Vegetarian
Key Difference: A vegan diet is a person that does not consume any type of animal products including meat, poultry, fish, eggs, milk and eggs. Veganism is the practice of abstaining from use of any animal products including consuming them. Vegetarians are basically people that abstain from eating meat or poultry and depend on vegetables for energy and nutrition. There are three different types of vegetarians: Lacto-vegetarian, Ovo-vegetarian and Lacto-ovo vegetarians. Vegetarianism could also include abstention from by-products of animal slaughter such as gelatin.
There is a lot of talk about vegans and vegetarians, with many people shifting to become vegetarians as it is considered as a healthier option. With many celebrities promoting the vegetarian and vegan diets, many people have considerably shifted to either one of these. However, others are confused between the two. Vegan and vegetarian follow similar paths, but there are certain things that a vegan do not eat, which are consumed by vegetarians. These are two different diets and should not be confused, as some people might take offence.
A vegan diet is a person that does not consume any type of animal products including meat, poultry, fish, eggs, milk and eggs. Veganism is the practice of abstaining from use of any animal products including consuming them. Many vegans follow this path from a humanitarian point of view; they believe that animals have just as much a right to live on this earth as humans do. They also state that humans have no right to raise animals for their own use. They also oppose using animals products because of the conditions in which the animals are kept and the way they are treated. There are two different types of vegans: Dietary vegans and Ethical vegans. Dietary vegans are vegans that refrain from consuming any animal products such as meat, eggs, milk, honey, etc. Ethical vegans also include veganism into the other areas of their lives such as refusing to wear clothes made from animal hide, etc.
The term ‘vegan’ was coined by Donald Watson, co-founder of the British Vegan Society in 1944. The term referred to ‘non-dairy vegetarians’, including opposing the consumption of eggs. Certain cultures in many countries follow the veganism concept including the Jains in India that abstain from consuming any animals and also certain plants that grow under the ground. Vegans get all their proteins, vitamins and sources of energy from fruits and vegetables.
Vegetarians are basically people that abstain from eating meat or poultry and depend on vegetables for energy and nutrition. There are three different types of vegetarians: Lacto-vegetarian, Ovo-vegetarian and Lacto-ovo vegetarians. Lacto-vegetarians are vegetarians that refrain from consuming eggs but will dairy. Ovo-vegetarians are vegetarians refrain from consuming dairy products will eat eggs. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are vegetarians that include eggs and dairy products in their diet. Vegetarianism could also include abstention from by-products of animal slaughter such as gelatin. Some vegetarians may refrain from eating meat, poultry but will eat eggs, dairy products or fish; this practice is known as semi-vegetarianism.
The term ‘vegetarian’ differs depending on the country, place and persons. While, some people shift to vegetarianism for ethical reasons believing it is wrong to raise and murder animals for our own personal sustenance; others do it for a health related reason, claiming vegetarian diets to be a healthier lifestyle. There have been conflicting studies that claiming that vegetarian diets are considered to be much healthier than meat-based diets, while other studies claiming some meats are required to have a nourishing diet. There are also people that choose these diets because of their religious upbringing, demanding to refrain from consuming certain things. The type of diet that a person consumes solely depends on their views and personal choice.
Image Courtesy: ashtarcommandcrew.net
Image Courtesy: health.ninemsn.com.au