Difference between Jaguar and Tiger

Key Difference:  A Jaguar and Tiger belong to the same family known as Felidae family. Jaguars are larger and stockier, and are mainly found in the Western hemisphere. The tiger is the most powerful of all the big cats, and is native to East and Southern Asia.

Jaguars are solitary animals that live and hunt alone, except during their mating season; whereas, Tigers have a large muscular body with powerful forelimbs, which are used for hunting and climbing. A Jaguar resembles  leopard, but is larger and has a somewhat shorter tail. Jaguars are seen in many places ranging from Southern Mexico to Argentina. Jaguars are outstanding swimmers and climbers. On the other hand, tiger does not resemble any other big cat. Tigers are very territorial and may mark their territories through urinating on nearby plants and trees, spraying anal gland secretions, or marking trails with scat.

Jaguars hunt individually, often springing from trees upon tapirs, capybaras, and peccaries. They either crush or suffocate the prey or bite straight through their skull. They also feed on fish and rabbits; some jaguars kill domestic cattle for food. About 3 and half months after mating, the female generally gives birth to two to four kittens.

Tigers or Panthera tigris is a feline from the Felidae family that can reach a total body length of 11ft and weight up to 306kg. Due to poaching and loss of habitat, tigers have been classified as endangered by IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature). Fur color of tigers varies between shades of yellow, orange and brown; with white around the stomach and black stripes along the back. They have long whiskers and circular pupils with yellow irises. A tiger’s stripes are as unique as fingerprints for humans; each tiger’s stripes differ from the other, making it easier to identify them.

Comparison between Jaguar and Tiger:




Scientific name

Panthera onca

Panthera Tigris




















12 to 15 years (In Wild)

20 to 26 years (In captivity)


Southern United States and Mexico across much of Central America and south to Paraguay and northern Argentina.

Bengal (Indian) tiger, the Indochinese tiger, the Sumatran tiger, the South China tiger, the Malayan tiger and Siberian (Amur) tiger. Tigers live in the wild in many regions throughout the globe, however, most can be found in Nepal, Tibet, India, South China, Sumatra, and Asia. Mostly, all of the present-day tigers descended from the tigers that were originally in South Central China.


They will either crush or suffocate and victim or bite straight through his skull.

Tigers prefer to hunt at night.


Their diet consists of approximately 87 species. It includes Caimans, deer, capybaras, tapirs, peccaries, dogs, foxes, frogs, mice, birds anacondas, cattle,  horses, fish, sloth, monkeys, and turtles, etc.

They only hunt large animals such as deer, buffalo, wild pigs, etc.


Weight is 56 to 96 kg, can go up to 160 kg. Females are typically 10–20% smaller than males.

Weight is up to 306 kg


Jaguars base coat is usually tawny yellow, but can range to reddish-brown and black.

They have only one color that is brownish with black stripes.

Image Courtesy: petkaria.com, dmg42.blogspot.com

Most Searched in Business and Finance Most Searched in Computers and Internets
Most Searched in Beauty and Style Most Searched in Cars and Transportation
Animal vs Mammal
Legalisation vs Decriminalisation
Different Types of Mangoes

Add new comment

Plain text

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.